Ballarat

I enjoyed my couple of days in Ballarat. It is a very compact city and it is easy to get around on foot. I managed to do some photo walks early in the morning and late in the afternoon on both the Saturday and Sunday.

I found it to be a very visual city, a treat for large format architectural style work.

railway shed, Ballarat

Of course, I had no large format equipment with me–I was travelling light with three handheld cameras. Many of the images that were taken were little sketches to show the possibilities.

4 thoughts on “Ballarat

  1. “…little sketches to show the possibilities.” I like this description. It really puts into perspective the differences between large format and small hand held [digital] cameras; but the image still carries impact. 🙂

    Like

  2. A lot of my handheld digital work –eg.,those in Melbourne at the moment –are little studies for future work with a large format. It’s not a practical way of working really. My compromise on this trip is a handheld medium format camera which I mostly used for the cityscapes from various roof tops.

    Like

  3. Pingback: returning to Ballarat | poodlewalks

  4. Pingback: Sony Cybershot DSC S3000 | Best Sony Cameras

Leave a Reply

